Latest Badminton News and Articles

PSPB women in semifinals ; men’s team also on track

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Category: Badminton News Published: 13 February 2009
Posted by Hits: 823

PSPB’s Arvind Bhat suffers shock defeat

Gupta found ineligible, BSNL disqualified

INDORE: Defending champion Petroleum Sports Promotion Board moved into the final in the women’s section (for the Chadha Cup) of the National badminton championships, while it appears well set to do so in the men’s section for the Rahimatoola Cup.

While the women’s semifinal, here on Thursday, went as planned for it against Maharashtra, thanks to Trupti Murgunde fetching the lead even though Neha Pandit made a fight of it.

The seasoned pair and currently India’s best doubles pair of Jwala Gutta and Shruthi Kurien then made the issue safe to give the team the 2-0 victory margin.

In the men’s section, PSPB, playing Maharashtra, had to survive the shock of its top player Arvind Bhat’s defeat to former junior champion Sagar Chopda.

Petroleum still had the depth to keep the smiles going in its ranks taking a 2-1 lead.

Earlier in the morning, results panned out on expected lines, even though Maharashtra was stretched by Uttar Pradesh.

The centre of interest was the episode in the Railway-BSNL tie which was stopped half way through after it was found, based on Railways’ protest, that BSNL’s Manish Gupta was not eligible to play.

Gupta had played his singles and won it too and was preparing for the doubles when the truth of his having represented Chhattisgarh in the zonal competition came out. The tie was instantly stopped and BSNL disqualified for the rule violation.

The match score read 1-1 but that was erased and Railways sailed through.

The results:

Men: Quarterfinals: PSPB bt Punjab 3-0 (Arvind Bhat bt Mayank Behal 21-16, 21-12; P. Kashyap bt Lakhwinder Singh 21-10, 21-12; Rupesh Kumar & Arvind Bhat bt Mayank Behal & Opinder Pal Singh 21-10, 21-18).

Maharashtra bt UP 3-2 (Sagar Chopda bt Aman Singh Vishvan 21-6, 21-11; Eshan Naqvi lost to Abhinn Shyam Gupta 10-21, 13-21; Varun Khanwalkar & Sameer Bhagwat bt Abhinn Shyam Gupta & Ravinder Singh 21-14, 17-21, 21-8; Prashant Bahatare lost to Ravinder Singh 15-21, 19-21; Abidanya Sawant & Prasad Shetty bt T.S. Bisht & D.B. Thapa 21-18, 21-14).

Andhra Pradesh bt Assam 3-0 (C.M. Sashidhar bt Suranjan Bhobhora 21-7, 21-11; Srujan Nandaluri bt Anshuman Hazarika 21-7, 21-17; P. Vinay Kumar Reddy & N.N. Vinayak bt Suranjan Bhohora & Dibyajyoti Bora 13-21, 21-19, 21-14) Railways bt BSNL (latter disqualified).

Women: Semifinals: PSPB bt Maharashtra 2-0 (Trupti Murugunde bt Neha Pandit 21-14, 19-21, 21-12; Jwala Gutta & Shruthi Kurien bt Prajakta Sawant & Sampada Sahsrabudhe 21-12, 21-4.

Quarterfinals: PSPB bt Delhi 2-0 (Trupti Murugunde bt Mohita Sahdev 21-10, 21-12; Jwala Gutta & Shruthi Kurien bt Mohita Sahdev 21-10, 21-9).

Maharashtra bt Assam 2-0 (Neha Pandit bt Bibari Basumatari 20-22, 21-13, 21-11; Neha Pandit & Arundhati Pantawane bt Krishna Deka Raja & Anjali Kalita 21-17, 21-18).

Karnataka bt W. Bengal 2-1 (V. Ruthmisha lost to Sheshadari Sanyal 13-21, 21-13, 15-21, B.R. Meenakshi & Ashwini Ponnappa bt Amrita Mukherjee & Barnali Raha 21-13, 21-13; Ashwini Ponnappa bt Barnali Raha 21-12, 21-7).

Air India bt BSNL 2-0 (Sayali Gokhale bt Manali Sinha 21-14, 21-10; Sayali Gokhale & P. Jyotsana bt Manali Sinha & V. Jyotiswaroopa 23-21, 21-7).
  • No comments found



Google Plus

Replays: Superseries Finals 2014

2014 Dubai Superseries Finals Badminton Videos

Watch Replays

  • Recent News
  • Popular
Morten Frost faces challenges to revive Malaysian badminton

Kuala Lumpur: As former Danish great Morten Frost Hansen beg

Yoo Yeon-Seong marries girlfriend Eriko Tsuchiya

Seoul: World number one men's doubles player Yoo Yeon-Seong

Happy New Year! Reliving the top 10 greatest moments of Malaysian badminton from 2014

Kuala Lumpur: 2014 may not have been a stellar year for Mala

The love story of Derek Wong and Vanessa Neo

By Cheryl Tay The love story of Singapore badminton players

Lin Dan joins torch relay for 2014 Youth Olympics

Nanjing: Two times Olympic gold medalist Lin Dan was one of

Carolina Marin Receives Sport Merit Royal Order

Madrid: The winner of 2014 BWF Badminton World Championships

Recommended badminton news for you